Monroe County was formed in 1821 from Creek Indian land. It is named for President James Monroe, the 5th President of the United States and author of the Monroe Doctrine.

Forsyth, the county seat, is named for John Forsyth, who, as minister to Spain, negotiated the purchase of Florida in 1819. Culloden was named for a Scottish Highlander who opened a store there in 1780. Culloden is also the site of the oldest Methodist church in Georgia.


This Risk Limiting Audit (RLA) will be initiated by the

Secretary of State (SOS) Brad Raffensperger.

Once the SOS has officially declared the RLA,

Monroe County will start the RLA on 

December 13th until completion. Monroe County will be conducting

our RLA at the Monroe County Administration Building

at 38 W. Main St. Forsyth, GA 31029 starting @ 10:00 a.m.

Current Events

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday

8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

If you have any questions

please call our office

@ 478-994-7622.